Tuesday, April 23, 2019

OUTER CRITICS CIRCLE: Nominees for 2018-19 Awards for the Best of Broadway and Off Broadway

Michael Urie and Julie Halston
Photo by Howard Miller

The Outer Critics Circle today announced the nominees for the 2018-19 awards for the best of Broadway and Off Broadway.  

The nominees were announced in a ceremony at the Algonquin Hotel.  Julie Halston, who opens tonight in the Broadway musical Tootsie, and Michael Urie, who starred in Torch Song in its recent Off Broadway and Broadway productions, did the honors.

After voting by its membership (and here I proudly raise my hand) the winners will be announced on Monday, May 13.  The annual Gala Awards Dinner and presentation of awards to the winners will be held on Thursday, May 23 at Sardi's. 

Here are the nominees:

Outstanding New Broadway Play

The Ferryman
To Kill A Mockingbird
What the Constitution Means to Me

Outstanding New Broadway Musical

Be More Chill
Head Over Heels
The Prom

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

The House That Will Not Stand
The Light
White Noise

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical

The Beast in the Jungle
Black Light
Girl from the North Country
The Hello Girls
Midnight at the Never Get

Outstanding Book Of A Musical

Robert Horn, Tootsie
Conor McPherson, Girl from the North Country
Peter Mills & Clara Reichel, The Hello Girls
Anais Mitchell, Hadestown
Jeff Whitty & James Magruder, Head Over Heels

Outstanding New Score

Matthew Sklar & Chad Baguelin, The Prom
Joe Iconis, Be More Chill
Peter Mills, The Hello Girls
Anais Mitchell, Hadestown
David Yazbek, Tootsie

Outstanding Revival of a Play

All My Sons
By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Juno and the Paycock
Our Lady of 121st Street
The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Carmen Jones
Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Kiss Me, Kate!
Smokey Joe’s Cafe

Outstanding Director of a Play

Rupert Goold, Ink
Sam Mendes, The Ferryman
Jack O’Brien, All My Sons
Bartlett Sher, To Kill A Mockingbird
Logan Vaughn, The Light

Outstanding Director of a Musical

Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown
Scott Ellis, Tootsie
Daniel Fish, Oklahoma!
Joel Grey, Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Cara Reichel, The Hello Girls

Outstanding Choreographer

Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me, Kate!
Christopher Gattelli, The Cher Show
Denis Jones, Tootsie
David Neumann, Hadestown
Sergio Trujillo, Ain’t Too Proud

Outstanding Scenic Design

Beowulf Boritt, Bernhardt/Hamlet
Bunny Christie, Ink
Rachel Hauck, Hadestown
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
David Korins, Beetlejuice

Outstanding Costume Design

Rob Howell, The Ferryman
Bob Mackie, The Cher Show
William Ivey Long, Beetlejuice
William Ivey Long, Tootsie
Arianne Phillips, Head Over Heels

Outstanding Lighting Design

Neil Austin, Ink
Stacey Derosier, Lewiston/Clarkston
Bradley King, Hadestown
Jadon Lyons, Sugar in Our Wounds
Peter Mumford, King Kong

Outstanding Projection Design

Peter England, King Kong
Alex Basco Koch, Be More Chill
Peter Nigrini, Beetlejuice 
Jeff Sugg, All My Sons
Tal Tarden, Network

Outstanding Sound Design

John Gromada, All My Sons
Peter Hykenski, King Kong
Drew Levy, Oklahoma!
Eric Sleichim, Network
Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Outstanding Orchestrations

Michael Chorney & Todd Sickafoose, Hadestown
Simon Hale, Girl from the North Country
Joseph Joubert, Carmen Jones
Daniel Kluger, Oklahoma!
Harold Wheeler, Ain't Too Proud!

Outstanding Actor in a Play

McKinley Belcher III, The Light
Bryan Cranston, Network
Daveed Diggs, White Noise
Bill Irwin, On Beckett
Jeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Outstanidng Actress in a Play

Glen Close, Mother of the Maid
Edie Falco, The True
Glenda Jackson, King Lear
Mandi Masden, The Light
Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Brooks Ashmanskas, The Prom
Reeve Carney, Hadestown
Damon Daunno, Oklahoma!
Santino Fontana, Tootsie
Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Room (in Yiddish)

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

Stephanie J. Block, The Cher Show
Kelli O'Hara, Kiss Me, Kate!
Beth Leavel, The Prom
Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones
Mare Winningham, Girl from the North Country

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Bertie Carvel, Ink
John Clay III, Choir Boy
Hugh Dancy, Apologia
John Procaccino, Downstairs
Benjamin Walker, All my Sons

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Joan Allen, The Waverly Gallery
Stephanie Berry, Sugar in Our Wounds
Fionnula Flanagan, The Ferryman
Harriett D. Foy, The House That WIll Not Stand
Celia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a Mockingbird

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

John Behlmann, Tootsie
André De Shields, Hadestown
Reg Rogers, Tootsie
George Salazar, Be More Chill
Ephraim Sykes, Ain't Too Proud!

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Amber Gray, Hadestown
Leslie Kritzer, Beetlejuice
Bonnie Milligan, Head Over Heels
Sarah Stiles, Tootsie
Ali Stroker, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Solo Performance

Mike Birbiglia, The New ONe
Maddie Corman, Accidentally Brave
Jake Gyllenhaal, A Life
Carey Mulligan, Girls and Boys
Renée Taylor, My Life on a Diet

John Gassner Award
For an American play, preferably by a new playwright

Jeremy O. Harris, Slave Play
Jeremy Kareken and David Murrell and Gordon Farrell, 
The Lifespan of a Fact
Donja R. Love, Sugar in Our Wounds
Mingg Peiffer, Usual Girls
Charly Evon Simpson, Behind the Sheet


The Puppetry Team that Created and Operates King Kong

The York Theatre Company, for 50 years of producing new musicals and classics from the past


Feel free to share this blog with your friends, and to offer up your own theater stories by posting a comment. I also invite you to check out the website Show-Score.Com, where you will find capsule reviews of current plays from Yours Truly and many other New York critics.

No comments:

Post a Comment