Wednesday, September 23, 2015

2015 INNOVATIVE THEATRE AWARDS: Celebrating the Best of Off Off Broadway

11th Annual Innovative Theatre Award Winners Announced 

The 11th Annual Innovative Theatre Awards celebrated the outstanding year of Off Off Broadway. The 2015 NYIT Award Nominees represent 145 individual nominees, 57 productions, and 55 theatre companies.

Congratulations and Kudos to the winners of the 2015 New 
York Innovative Theatre Awards:

Outstanding Premiere Production of a Play: In Vestments 
(Theatre 4the People)

Outstanding Revival of a Play: Much Ado About Nothing 
(Smith Street Stage, Inc)

Outstanding Production of a Musical: Merrily We Roll Along (Astoria Performance Arts Center)

Outstanding Performance Art Production: Night (The New 
Stage Theatre Company)

Outstanding Original Full Length Script: Micheline Auger, 
Donkey Punch (Ivy Theatre Company)

Outstanding Original Short Script: Lisa Bruna, Invasion from 
Estrogenius: Andi’s Night (manhattan theatre source)

Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role: Matthew Trumbull, The 
Temple, or Lebensraum (Tin Drum Productions in Association with MozzleStead)

Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role: Emily Koch, In the 
Bones (Astoria Performing Arts Center)

Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role: Dan McVey, Pretty 
Babies (Elsinore County)

Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role: Mel House, In the 
Bones (Astoria Performing Arts Center)

Outstanding Ensemble: Much Ado About Nothing (Smith 
Street Stage, Inc) Olivia Caputo, Michael Vincent Carrera, Mary Cavett,
John Patrick Doherty, Austin Durant, Maxwell Eddy, Patrick Harvey,
Alexandra Henrikson, Jonathan Hopkins, David Pegram, Lauren Pennline,
Georgina Richardson, Sam Rosenberg, Will Sarratt, Kim Taff, Sophia Tupy,
Corey Whelihan

Outstanding Solo Performance: Sylvia Milo, The Other 
Mozart (Little Matchstick Factory)

Outstanding Director: Isaac Byrne, In Vestments (Theatre 
4the People)

Outstanding Choreography/Movement: Isaac Bush, The 
Mountain (The Circle Theater of New York)

Outstanding Lighting Design: Nicole Pearce, The Law of 
Return (Newsom Zipoy Productions)

Outstanding Costume Design: Debbi Hobson, 
Unmentionables (Nylon Fusion Collective)

Outstanding Set Design: Carolyn Mraz, The Twelfth Labor 
(Loading Dock Theatre Company)

Outstanding Sound Design: Jeanne Travis, The Temple, or 
Lebensraum (Tin Drum Productions in Association with 

Outstanding Innovative Design: Stephanie Cox-Williams, 
R&J&Z (Hard Sparks)

Outstanding Original Music: Phyllis Chen and Nathan Davis, 
The Other Mozart (Little Matchstick Factory)

Artistic Achievement Award Recipient: Marshall W. Mason

Ellen Stewart Award: HERE Arts Center

Caffe Cino Fellowship Award: Theatre 167

Doric Wilson independent Playwright Award: Andrea Alton

Outstanding Stage Manager: Juni Li

Feel free to share this blog with your friends, and to offer up your 
own theater stories by posting a comment. I also invite you
to check out the new website Show-Score.Com, where you will 
find capsule reviews of current plays from Yours Truly and many
other New York critics.  

No comments:

Post a Comment