Wednesday, May 11, 2016

DRAMA DESK AWARDS: 2016 Winners to be Named at Ceremony on June 5. Nominees and My Choices

The Drama Desk will be honoring the winners of its 2016 awards at ceremonies to be held on June 5 at Town Hall. 

Below is the list of nominees in each of the categories, along with my choices. Note that while there is overlap with the Outer Critics Circle Awards (discussed here), each organization functions independently, including how it identifies candidates for each of its categories.  

Best Play
The Christians
The Humans
King Charles III
The Royale

Best Play Revival
Cloud Nine 
Death Of A Salesman (New Yiddish Rep)
Henry IV (Donmar Warehouse at St. Ann's)
Long Day's Journey Into Night
A View From The Bridge
Women Without Men (Mint Theater)

Best Actor In A Play
Andrew Garman: The Christians
Avi Hoffman: Death of a Salesman
Frank Langella: The Father
Tim Pigott-Smith: King Charles III
Mark Strong: A View from the Bridge

Best Actress In A Play
Georgia Engel: John
Mamie Gummer: Ugly Lies the Bone 
Marin Ireland: Ironbound 
Jessica Lange: Long Day's Journey Into Night
Nicola Walker: A View From The Bridge

Best Featured Actor/Play
Bill Camp: The Crucible
David Furr: Noises Off
Matt McGrath: The Legend Of Georgia McBride
Richard Thomas: Incident At Vichy
Michael Shannon: Long Day's Journey Into Night

Best Featured Actress/Play
Brooke Bloom: Cloud Nine
Megan Hilty: Noises Off
Nellie Overbey: Women Without Men
Saycon Sengbloh: Eclipsed
Jeanine Serralles: Gloria

Best Director Of A Play
Rachel Chavkin: The Royale
Sam Gold: John
Rupert Goold: King Charles III
Joe Mantello: The Humans
Jenn Thompson: Women Without Men
Ivo van Hove: A View From The Bridge

Best Musical
First Daughter Suite
Daddy Long Legs
School of Rock
Shuffle Along

Best Musical Revival
The Color Purple
The Golden Bride (National Yiddish Theater)
Fiddler On The Roof
She Loves Me
Spring Awakening

Best Actor In A Musical
Danny Burstein: Fiddler On The Roof
Robert Creighton: Cagney
Michael C. Hall: Lazarus
Zachary Levi: She Loves Me
Benjamin Walker:  American Psycho

Best Actress In A Musical
Laura Bennati: She Loves Me
Carmen Cusack: Bright Star
Cynthia Erivo: The Color Purple
Jessie Mueller: Waitress
Annette O'Toole: Southern Comfort

Best Featured Actor In A Musical
Nicholas Barasch: She Loves Me
Christopher Fitzgerald: Waitress
Baylee Littrell: Disaster!
Paul Alexander Nolan: Bright Star
A. J. Shively: Bright Star

Best Featured Actress in a Musical
Danielle Brooks: The Color Purple
Alison Fraser: First Daughter Suite
Rachel Bay Jones: Dear Evan Hansen
Jane Krakowski: She Loves Me
Mary Testa: First Daughter Suite

Best Director of a Musical
Michael Arden: Spring Awakening
John Doyle: The Color Purple
Rupert Goold: American Psycho
Bartlett Sher: Fiddler On The Roof
Bryna Wasserman/Motl Didner: The Golden Bride

Best Choreographer
Joshua Bagasse: Cagney
Spencer Liff: Spring Awakening
Lynne Page: American Psycho
Randy Skinner: Dames At Sea
Savion Glover: Shuffle Along

Best Costume Design/Play
Jessica Ford: These Paper Bullets
Maria Hally: Women Without Men
Constance Hoffman: Pericles
William Ivey Long: Show For Days
Anita Yavich: The Legend of Georgia McBride

Best Costume Design/Musical
Jane Greenwood: Bright Star
Katrina Lindsay: American Psycho
Jeff Mahshie: She Loves Me
Alejo Vietti: Allegiance
Ann Roth: Shuffle Along

Best Set Design/Play
Riccardo Hernandez: Red Speedo
Mimi Lien:  John
G. W. Mercier: Head of Passes
Christopher Oram: Hughie
Derek McLane: Fully Committed

Best Set Design/Musical
Es Devlin: American Psycho
Emily Oring, Matt Saunders, Eric Farber: Futurity
David Rockwell: She Loves Me

Outstanding Projection Design
Nicholas Hussong: These Paper Bullets
Darrel Maloney: Tappin' Thru Life
Peter Nigrini: Dear Evan Hansen
Finn Ross: American Psycho
Tai Yarden: Lazarus

Feel free to share this blog with your friends, and to offer up your own theater stories by posting a comment. I also invite you to check out the new website Show-Score.Com, where you will find capsule reviews of current plays from Yours Truly and many other New York critics.  

No comments:

Post a Comment